Skip to main content

CAST History

Colorado Association of Ski Towns

In June of 1979, representatives from Aspen, Breckenridge, Crested Butte, Dillon, Frisco, Mt. Crested Butte, Snowmass Village, Steamboat Springs, Telluride, Vail and Winter Park agreed to form an association to assure that their mutual problems could be resolved more satisfactorily through a joint effort, and to insure that their need were better understood by elected and appointed officials of Colorado and the nation.

Critical issues identified at this initial meeting included housing, transportation, a balanced economy, and relationships with the USFS, ski corporations and the State of Colorado.

The intent of the Association was also to work distinctively from, but in cooperation with the Colorado Municipal League (CML) to ensure that resort needs were addressed.

The original Articles of Association were signed on August 25, 1979 in Telluride, Colorado. Purposes of the Association included:

To Cooperate

To cooperate between Colorado cities and towns immediately impacted by the skiing industry in the improvement of municipal government

To Study

To study the needs and render such services as may be proper for the further enrichment of Colorado Ski cities and towns

To Assist

To assist in the securing of legislation enactments beneficial to the number of municipalities and to oppose all legislation deemed injurious thereto;

To Sue or Defend

To sue or defend in the name of this corporation any actions or proceedings in or in equity when deemed advisable;

To Hold Conferences

To hold conferences, or meetings at such times and places as may be determined for the discussion of mutual affairs of member cities and towns and to adopt measures for the betterment thereof

To Do All Acts and Things Necessary

In general, to do all acts and things necessary, proper and expedient for the welfare and benefit of municipalities and the citizens thereof impacted by the skiing industry.